April already?!

Sky Lounge at Doubletree Hilton, Leeds

Sky Lounge at Doubletree Hilton, Leeds

Well I don’t know where January, February and March went! Work has been so busy over the past few months that I’ve only just come up for air. Now I have a week off work for Easter and I’m enjoying spending time with friends and family and making even more plans for the next few months.

On Easter weekend I drove up from Oxford to Chester and spent the weekend with my family, enjoying some nice meals and eating a lot of chocolate. The weather has brightened up a bit and I am so excited to see the sun for what feels like the first time in a month. Long may it continue.

So on to a couple of things I’ve been doing over the past few months and a couple of recommendations. I’ve been traveling to a fair few conferences for work over the last couple of months (just within the UK). I went solo to Leeds about a month ago and want to recommend the Doubletree Hilton at Granary Wharf in Leeds (look here for more details)

I was very lucky that my company put me up in this lovely hotel – you get a free warm cookie on check-in! and there is an amazing sky lounge on the top floor with views over the city. The hotel is really central (right next to the station as you’ll see in the photo) so is perfect for exploring Leeds (sadly I didn’t have time to explore the shopping on offer!)

Chandos House, central London

Chandos House, central London

Another great place I stayed at in London was Chandos House which is actually owned by the Royal Society of Medicine. It is 2 minutes walk from Oxford Circus and is next to Harley Street. The property, an 18th Century townhouse actually featured in Ang Lee’s 1995 film ‘Sense and Sensibility’ and is decorated beautifully throughout. I got a great deal on Late Rooms and couldn’t believe how beautiful the hotel was when I arrived.

Many times over the past few months I’ve wished that I had a better camera than the one on my iPhone to capture the moment so I recently invested in a compact system camera and last weekend took a SLR photography course to teach myself how to use it. I’m looking forward to putting the skills I acquired into practice over the coming months and hopefully you’ll see the end result on future blog posts. It’s one of the things I wanted to learn to do this year so I’m glad it one that I have managed to start and hopefully will continue to develop as I do a bit of travelling this summer.

My new camera!

My new camera!

Leave a Reply

