My travel essentials – part one

I’ve been busy planning this year’s summer travels over the past month (details to follow next week!) and thinking about the things I need to buy for this year’s adventures. So I thought it would be a good idea to share some of my essential travel items that I take every time I travel abroad. Over the last 7 years of backpacking and adventure holidays they have proved themselves and thus deserve to make my favourites list. Here we go:

Merrell Pace Gloves

Merrell Pace Gloves

Merrell Pace Glove Shoes

I’m now on my second pair of Merrell Pace Glove shoes and have found them to be lifesaving for my feet over the past few years. I managed to bag my second pair for only £55 in this year’s January sales, which is quite good for a brand you never seem to see on sale. I fist saw these shoes being worn by a dutch girl when I was backpacking in Bangkok and soon became insanely jealous that she could walk for hours and hours while my feet were crying in unsupportive flip-flops. Not only are these shoes super breathable for even the hottest climates, they are super good for your feet (read here about the benefits ) and they can be scrunched up into a tiny ball and coerced into even the fullest backpack.

Reusable ear plugs

Reusable ear plugs

Reusable ear plugs

I bought this pair whist staying at a particularly noisy hostel in Madrid about 6 years ago and I can’t believe I still have the same pair. They come in this dinky little carry case and mould perfectly to my ears which makes them so much more comfortable than those cheap ones that you often find included in your ‘sleep pack’ on overnight flights. You can usually pick up a comfortable pair of plugs for £4-£5 in books or luggage shops.

Tiger Balm

Tiger Balm

Tiger Balm

Everyone who has been to Asia knows that this stuff is super useful. Use it to keep the mozzies away, soothe aching limbs, ease chest tightness and nasal congestion, the list goes on. It costs about $2 per tub, depending on where you are in Asia and lasts ages. Massaging Tiger Balm into your legs and feet after a long day sightseeing will ease your aches and leave you feeling super refreshed.

PETZL Tikka XP2

I had my previous trusty PETZL Tikka 2 headlamp for 3 years and thought it was great. I managed to sell that one on eBay earlier this year and upgrade to the XP2, which has 80 lumens of brighness. I’ve found PETZL headtorches to be super hard wearing and easy on the batteries. They take 3 AAA batteries and come with a 3 year guarantee. The XP2 model weight just 88 grams and can produce a maximum lighting distance of 68 meters. A headtorch is

Wearing my headtorch in Canada 2011

Wearing my headtorch in Canada 2011

absolutely invaluable if your going to be camping or staying in dorms. It means you can get up in the middle of the nights or look for your belongings without waking everyone up and it helps when navigating around a dark, bear-ridden campsite at 4am! Other great uses for your headtorch are when going caving, into tunnels, cooking in the dark and for cycling in the dark without bike lights. I have found that I rarely need to change the batteries in my headtorch and the PETZL site says that the headtorch can last up to 190 hours in power saving mode.

These are just some of my traveling essentials> i will bring you part two very soon, but in the meantime, please share in the comments box below any personal travel essentials suggestions you have.

Leave a Reply

